Islas Salomón

Información acerca de Islas Salomón

Region: Oceanía
Capital: Honiara
Population: 740,000
Area (sq km): 27,556
FIPS Country Code: BP
ISO Country Code: SB
GRN Office: Global Recordings Network Australia

About the Solomon Islands

The Solomon Islands is a small country, consisting of 7 major volcanic islands plus numerous smaller coral atolls.

The capital is Honiara on Guadalcanal Island.

The population as at 2000 was made up of Melanesians 90.7%; Polynesians 3.7%; Other 5.6%.

Literacy is 54%, the lowest literacy rate in the Pacific.

The official language English. Trade language, Solomons Pijin, spoken by half the population.

There are a total of 66 languages, but up to 120 if distinct dialects are included.

Two languages have full Bibles, and 10 have New Testaments.

There is freedom of religion with a strong Christian emphasis. Cargo Cults (1.9%), Traditional ethnic (1.5%), Baha'i (0.4%).

The land has been so exposed to the gospel that only pockets of animists on Guadalcanal and Malaita resist it. Yet the continued influence of syncretistic or almost pagan 'cargo cults', which have prompted an exodus from churches in the past, shows the need for a personal appropriation of the gospel by each generation.

Map of Islas Salomón

Map of Islas Salomón

Idiomas y dialectos hablados en Islas Salomón

  • Other Language Options
    Grabaciones disponibles
    Nombres de Lenguajes
    Lenguajes indigenas

Encontrado 94 nombes de idiomas

Amba (Solomon Islands) [Temotu] - ISO Language [utp]

'Are'are [Malaita] - ISO Language [alu]

Are Are: Marau Sound [Guadalcanal] [alu]

Arosi [Makira] - ISO Language [aia]

Arosi: Wango [Makira] [aia]

Babatana [Western] - ISO Language [baa]

Babatana: Sisiqa [Western] [baa]

Baebo [Malaita] [bvd]

Baegu [Malaita] - ISO Language [bvd]

Baelelea [Malaita] - ISO Language [bvc]

Baniata [Western] - ISO Language [tqu]

Bareke [Western] [mpr]

Bauro: Haununu [Makira] [bxa]

Bilua [Western] - ISO Language [blb]

Birao [Guadalcanal] - ISO Language [brr]

Bughotu [Isabel] - ISO Language [bgt]

Bululaha & Malapaina [Malaita] [mnm]

Cheke Holo [Isabel] - ISO Language [mrn]

Cheke Holo & Kokota [Isabel] [kkk]

Cheke Holo: Maringe [Isabel] [mrn]

Davovitu/Gabata [Guadalcanal] [alu]

Dori'o [Malaita] - ISO Language [dor]

Dovele [Western] [blb]

Duke [Western] - ISO Language [nke]

English: USA [United States of America] [eng]

Fataleka [Malaita] - ISO Language [far]

Fautharii [Malaita] [far]

Gao [Isabel] - ISO Language [gga]

Gela [Central Islands] - ISO Language [nlg]

Ghanongga [Western] - ISO Language [ghn]

Ghari [Guadalcanal] - ISO Language [gri]

Ghari: Vaturanga [Guadalcanal] [gri]

Gula'alaa [Malaita] - ISO Language [gmb]

Gula'alaa/Uru [Malaita] [gmb]

Hagaruhi [Makira] [agw]

Hoava [Western] - ISO Language [hoa]

Hoava & Kusaghe [Western] [ksg]

Hua [Guadalcanal] [lgr]

Irigila [Western] [blb]

Kahua [Makira] - ISO Language [agw]

Kiribati: Solomon Islands [Choiseul] [gil]

Korutalau Group [Malaita] [apb]

Kusaghe [Solomon Islands] - ISO Language [ksg]

Kwaio [Malaita] - ISO Language [kwd]

Kwara'ae [Malaita] - ISO Language [kwf]

Langa-Langa [Malaita] - ISO Language [lgl]

Lau [Malaita] - ISO Language [llu]

Lavukaleve [Central Islands] - ISO Language [lvk]

Lengo [Guadalcanal] - ISO Language [lgr]

Lengo: Aola [Guadalcanal] [lgr]

Lengo: Gua [Guadalcanal] [lgr]

Lengo: Paripao [Guadalcanal] [lgr]

Lengo: Vidiki [Guadalcanal] [lgr]

Longgu [Guadalcanal] - ISO Language [lgu]

Luga [Western] [lga]

Lunga [Western] - ISO Language [lga]

Malango [Guadalcanal] - ISO Language [mln]

Marovo [Western] - ISO Language [mvo]

Mono [Western] - ISO Language [mte]

Mono: Alu [Western] [mte]

Mono: Fauro [Western] [mte]

Natugu [Temotu] - ISO Language [ntu]

Natugu: Ndeni [Temotu] [ntu]

Navlopento [Temotu] [nlz]

Nieuwa [Temotu] [nfl]

Ontong Java: Luangiua [Malaita] [ojv]

Oroha [Malaita] - ISO Language [ora]

Owa [Makira] - ISO Language [stn]

Owa Rafa [Makira] [agw]

Parego [Makira] [bxa]

Pijin [Solomon Islands] - ISO Language [pis]

Pileni [Temotu] - ISO Language [piv]

Rennellese [Central Islands] - ISO Language [mnv]

Roviana [Western] - ISO Language [rug]

Sa'a [Malaita] - ISO Language [apb]

Sa'a: Uki Ni Masi [Malaita] [apb]

Sa'a: Ulawa [Malaita] [apb]

Savosavo [Central Islands] - ISO Language [svs]

Sikaiana [Malaita] - ISO Language [sky]

Simbo [Western] - ISO Language [sbb]

Star Harbour [Makira] [agw]

Tairaha [Makira] - ISO Language [bxa]

Talise: Koo [Guadalcanal] [tlr]

Talise: Poleo [Guadalcanal] [tlr]

Talise: Tolo [Temotu] [tlr]

Te Motu [Temotu] [ntu]

Tikopia [Temotu] - ISO Language [tkp]

To'abaita [Malaita] - ISO Language [mlu]

Vaghua [Western] - ISO Language [tva]

Vangunu [Western] - ISO Language [mpr]

Vanikoro [Temotu] - ISO Language [vnk]

Varisi [Western] - ISO Language [vrs]

Veuru Moli [Guadalcanal] [tlr]

Zabana [Isabel] - ISO Language [kji]

Grupos de Personas Islas Salomón

Anuta ▪ Areare ▪ Arosi ▪ Asumbua ▪ Babatana ▪ Baeggu ▪ Baelelea ▪ Baniata ▪ Bauro ▪ Bilua ▪ Birao ▪ Blablanga ▪ Bugoto ▪ Deaf ▪ Dorio ▪ Duke ▪ Euronesian ▪ Fagani ▪ Fataleka ▪ Fijian ▪ Fiu ▪ Florida Islander, Nggela ▪ Gao ▪ Ghari ▪ Gulaalaa ▪ Han Chinese, Mandarin ▪ Hoava ▪ Kahua ▪ Kiribertese ▪ Kokota ▪ Kumbokota ▪ Kusaghe ▪ Kwaio ▪ Langalanga ▪ Lau ▪ Lengo ▪ Longgu ▪ Lungga ▪ Malango ▪ Maringe, Cheke Holo ▪ Marovo ▪ Mono, Alu ▪ Nalogo ▪ Nanggu ▪ Natugu ▪ Nembao ▪ Neo-Melanesian Papuan ▪ Oloha ▪ Ontong Java Islander ▪ Pileni ▪ Reef Islander ▪ Rennellese ▪ Ririo ▪ Roviana ▪ Russel Islander ▪ Saa, South Malaita ▪ Santa Ana ▪ Savo Islander ▪ Sikayana ▪ Simbo ▪ Solomoni Creole ▪ Talise ▪ Tavula ▪ Teanu, Buma ▪ Tikopia ▪ To'ambaita ▪ Ugele ▪ Vangunu ▪ Vanuatu Melanesian ▪ Varese ▪ Zabana

Noticias acerca de Islas Salomón

About the Solomon Islands - The Solomon Islands consist of 7 major volcanic islands plus numerous smaller coral atolls.